Musings

I received an interesting enquiry today – ” Are you good with children?” I was amused by that question. I wouldn’t say that I am a child expert but over my three years of teaching, I have indeed collected my fair share of experiences. Children are wonderful creatures. They light up our lives in ways we do not comprehend. Yet we know, exasperation aside, that the joys outweigh the difficulties in more ways than one. Come on, let’s reflect positively on the giggles and laughs we share with them rather than our raging screams. 🙂

One belief I always hold close to my heart, is that a child’s life is no less multi-faceted than an adult’s. Sometimes we are so focused on setting things right for them and pushing them towards our own expectations that we forget they,like us, are individuals too. They need understanding and respect from us adults before they can learn to mirror the same effect. I have to agree that for this to happen, it takes plenty of time and patience, not to mention constant reminders to ourselves that they are after all, children.

The topic of understanding our children leads me to talk about another crucial development factor – listening to the teachers of your children. I have observed that parents sometimes hold a strong one-sided view that they are only ones who truly understand their children. However, I hold that view and more.

There is no defence here on my part. However, I have discovered that children display different attitudes and behaviours in their learning environments (can’t talk about the rest that I don’t know) compared to the private settings at home. While I agree that parents, having raised their children, do hold a greater degree of understanding than others, it is perhaps advisable to listen to the perspectives of others involved in the social circle of your child. Life is all encompassing and the same goes for your child. Keeping an open mind to  the views of others may add depth to the understanding of your child and even aid in the development of their fullest potential.

We sometimes forget, in our quest to shape their lives (more often according to our expectations), that we need to teach them how to take steps to build their own lives, make the right decisions and to take responsibilities for their choices they have made. We need to help them stand on their own feet without our presence by their sides. Parenthood indeed, is an art of its own.

Long musing on a cold, windy night like this. With the above note in mind, I will continue my quest on the understanding of our children. Hopefully, they open new dimensions in life that I have never known, just like they always do.

My windows are open and my cup is always waiting to be filled.

Leave a Reply

