“Thank You for This Meal”

http://www.godtube.com/watch/?v=09M0FJNU

People wonder, when i put my hands together, lower my head and mouth, “Thank you for this meal.” This gratitude is to God and the farmers who place the food in front of me.

It is my daily practice and has nothing to do with faith.I am not really bothered by the stares. I just tuck in quite happily. I just want to say my thanks for having food in front of me and that i can probably expect my next meal and when it arrives, another note of appreciation. Hunger brings tears i once thought. From that moment on, i developed this practice. I still keep to it and will continue to.

In the upcoming week, i am going to share a story with my students on this topic. In a land of abundance, it’s easy to forget – we take only what we need. Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

